Open Accessibility Menu

Marisa Swain Named 2023 George Hoag Pride Winner

Marisa Swain Named 2023 George Hoag Pride Winner

Hoag Orthopedic Institute (HOI) is pleased to share that Clinical Nurse Specialist Marisa R. Swain, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, PHN, ONC is named a 2023 George Hoag Pride Award recipient. The George Hoag Pride award is Hoag’s most prestigious honor recognizing truly extraordinary employees. Marisa has served as a nurse for both HOI and Hoag for 29 years and was nominated by her peers for the award.

“As our Clinical Nurse Specialist in Orthopedics, Marisa's expertise is priceless and shows an unwavering commitment to providing the best possible care for our patients,” said HOI’s Alina Miller MHI, BSN, RN, Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer. “Marisa identifies new treatments and services, consults with other team members, provides guidance on best practices for orthopedic care and ensures that patients receive safe, effective, and evidence-based care. Her focus is on our patients and ensuring the team has the training and education they need to practice at the top of their license. She has done incredible work inside the hospital and in the community through the “Own the Bone Program” and presentations at various Senior Centers about bone health. Marisa’s dedication and tireless work have impacted the lives of so many patients.”

Marisa’s peers shared that she is a dedicated nursing professional who has immensely contributed to HOI. “She continuously takes leadership in improving and innovating pathways. She is a key leader who has helped implement evidence-based policies and procedures, as well as develop HOI programs centered around clinical after-surgery care. Marisa is a role model leader who honors the diversity of each individual, supports, and empowers all to take on challenges and think outside the box. She is always willing to lend a supportive hand or provide words of encouragement. Words cannot explain her contributions or describe her passion for giving back to the community.”

The George Hoag Pride Award was developed in 1997 to acknowledge employees who truly represent the customer service values of George Hoag II and who, by their commitment and pride carry on his legacy: Excellence, Respect, Integrity, Patient-Centeredness and Community Benefit.

Marisa was honored at the Hoag Employee Recognition Banquet along with 29 HOI honorees recognized for their years of service:

HOI Employees Recognized for Service Years

  • Myrna Crowther - 25
  • Tracy Maxwell 25
  • Elizabeth Allgood 20
  • Maria Avila De Menendez - 20
  • Katheryn Von Bargen - 20
  • Esday Flores Espinoza - 15
  • Sarah Gagner - 15
  • Scott Manell -15
  • Wilfrea Nikniai - 15
  • Omar Vasquez - 15
  • June Yakura - 15
  • Tay Valadkhani 15
  • Marian Achenie - 10
  • Sopida Andronaco - 10
  • Robyn Bevis - 10
  • Jamie Blair-Yeakel - 10
  • Diane Claridge - 10
  • Marcela Glaser - 10
  • Natalie Lau - 10
  • Tim Waite - 10
  • Lynne Hill
  • Picca Auttapibarn - 10
  • Carol Kim - 10
  • Travis Lindberg - 10
  • Kris Monzon - 10
  • Cathy Pitts - 10
  • Terry Roth - 10
  • Jesica Scully - 10
  • Victor Tyler - 10